The Advent Series: A Wonderful Counsellor

Hello and welcome to my Advent Series over here at Her Value Above Rubies. Today is the first of December and I am getting incredibly excited for Christmas! Over the next month, I’m going to be sharing something to do with Christmas every day (I hope!). Some days it’s going to be a thought, some days it’s going to be a christmassy (and possibly German) recipe or a craft project, other days a song that’s getting me excited, and of course there’ll be year abroad blog posts which will be filled with christmas market photos.

To kick us off this advent series I want to share this passage from Isaiah 9:6 with you;

For to us a child is born,
    to us a son is given,
    and the government will be on his shoulders.
And he will be called
    Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God,
    Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

I’ll admit, I’ve heard this hundreds of times over my lifetime of Christmases, but that doesn’t give the words any less of an impact. Let’s think about one of the phrases here…

Wonderful Counsellor is the first phrase here that sticks out at me. You don’t go to a councillor if your life is entirely perfect, that would slightly defeat the point. Jesus came to earth so he could be there to listen and help us in our brokenness and our problems. How many times do we forget that he’s come to forgive us and make us right with God, not to find the perfect ones among us to love.

As we get excited about Christmas, with all it’s many little traditions and frivolities, I don’t want to forget what we’re celebrating here. We’re celebrating a gift worth receiving, a counsellor who loves us whilst we’re broken.

Leave a comment